About Me

There are many areas of this site that talk about what I can do and what I have done in my academic and work life. This page will attempt to let you all know a little bit about me and who I am.


I was born in Plymouth and have lived in Torpoint, Cornwall my entire life. Not due to lack of ambition, I just couldn’t imagine not living by the sea and I have very strong family values. I have been blessed to have grown up in the place that I love surrounded by loved ones. My mum and dad, sister, grandparents, aunties and uncles and friends, which make for many a memory and story. That has extended to a brother-in-law, niece, the extended family of my wife and my amazing son Thomas.

My Travels

Living in the same place has really only made me want to explore the world more. I have been all over the UK having visited parts of England from Lands End to Newcastle. I have dipped a toe in Scotland having visited John O’Groats, been to Dublin in Ireland, Jersey and have visited Wales many times. This has increased since I befriended a proud Welshman during my time at The Co-operative Insurance Society.

My travels have taken me further afield. I have visited France multiple times including Paris twice and Chamonix, Italy including Florence, Venice, Verona, Siena, Lido Di Jesolo and Padua, Brussels in Belgium, Prague in the Czech Republic, Benidorm in Spain (maybe a story for another time) and the stunning Tulum and the Riviera Maya in Mexico. The world is an incredible place! A lot of it is on our doorstep here in the UK.


Family is massively important to me. I have an amazing wife called Kelly who not only is quite brilliant but is also my best friend. No one has the ability to make me laugh until I can no longer control the tears, no one can support me through the twist and turns of life and no one can make the good moments in life better quite like my Kelly. We married in Polhawn Fort in May 2015, an area that we went on our first date and a place close to our hearts.

In 2016 we were blessed with our first child, Thomas William, who was named after both of my grandfathers. Thomas Luscombe sadly died before I had chance to meet him but William Wadge was a big influence on my childhood and early life. I love my little family with my whole heart and feel lucky every day to have them in my life. Hopefully they feel the same!


Sport is my one love outside of my family. I support Tottenham Hotspur, a varied relationship with the occasional up and many downs but this is another relationship that will never end. I also support the Cornish Pirates in rugby union and love many other sports including golf, tennis and athletics. I like to look after myself so regularly go to the gym, run, hike and try to play sport wherever possible.

Reading is one of my favourite pastimes. My favourite author being Stephen King but I like to try different genres. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry was a stunning read as was I Am Legend by Richard Matheson. I occasionally read autobiographies too including Ledley King, Lee Evans and Harry Redknapp. I also like to enjoy lots of entertainment media and enjoy the cinema, TV, live concerts, shows and the theatre. Thomas’s birth was backed by the music from La Traviata!

Music is another passion of mine! I’m not sure what the world would be like without music but it would certainly be a worse place. I have attended many live concerts down the years with highlights including Kings of Leon at Hyde Park, Embrace at the Eden Project, Greenday at Plymouth Pavilions and Elton John in his final tour at the Cardiff City Stadium. My favourite band of all time, Embrace, also put on the odd festival in fields in Yorkshire and Knebworth.

Hard Work & Fun

I am a strong believer that to be kind to others is one of the most important things we can all do. I like to do my bit for charity as you will see on my charity page. I try to carry this with me in everything I do.

I work hard so I can enjoy my life and provide for my family. I would give them the world if I could so I will aim to get as close as I can.

In one sentence I am at my happiest surrounded by loved ones at the beach on a hot summers day…bliss 🙂